It is often argued that it is difficult to get children to read. Why do you think this is? What measures could be taken to encourage children to read more?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Reading has always been expected to be an absolute way of improving children's sources of vocabulary as well as critical thinking. However, persuading kids to find reading interesting is always a true challenge, whose reasons and possible solutions will be detailed below.

First and foremost, the biggest factor preventing children from reading is related to their age. Obviously, kids will prefer energetic and playful activities such as running, playing with friends, and discovering new toys, over calm activities like reading. Therefore, sitting for a book is unbearable for them, even just for a while. Furthermore, without an appropriate method of reading, children will be unable to acknowledge a book's content, even if it is educationally good. For a kid, an hour on the playground is much more attractive than a minute with a book.

To solve this problem, the first option is to let parents accompany their kids in order to build a reading habit. A short time spent on reading before bedtime will effectively increase children's vocabulary and even strengthen the precious bond with their parents. Moreover, choosing age-appropriate books, for example, Peppa Pig, is crucial since they are understandable, short, and colorful enough for kids. A good book with nice illustrations can help children be more creative, along with increasing their language competence.

All things considered, it could be much easier to help kids love reading if a suitable approach is properly applied, for every one of them is a unique individual. Building a good habit like reading needs great effort, not only from the children themselves but also their parents.