It is often argued that it is difficult to get children to read. Why do you think this is? What measures could be taken to encourage children to read more? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

For a long time, reading has been deemed as one of the best mediums to accumulate knowledge. Notwithstanding many individuals finding it fascinating and engaging, some people, especially youngsters, are believed not to attach much importance to this action. This could happen courtesy of a host of reasons which will be further elucidated in this essay before giving any possible solutions.

To begin with, one prominent justification for why children lack interest in reading is because there are more stimulating hobbies that could get their attention. For example, in the past, instead of staying on the sofa and flipping through pages of a random book, boys would go outside and play soccer or team up with their friends. Similarly, their female counterparts tended to gravitate towards cooking or knitting, rather than reading. As of today's world, since technology is advancing at a stratospherically high level, children also tend to neglect the importance of reading and go for the attractiveness of technological gadgets. By shedding light on this example, it is crystal clear that they prospectively spend more time watching television or playing games than it is for learning lessons through books. To mitigate this, parents should restrictedly make a phone-time limitation for their children to follow and add in more recreational activities that include reading.

Another major reason worth mentioning is that parents' choices of books may affect how children perceive reading. If they start off with a complicated book, their daughter or son might have a hard time striving to understand the concept of the subject described. Having said that, sometimes it could be that the child may not have any interest in what they are reading. In this case, a possible solution could be to turn to another choice of books to begin with. This way, their kids may have a better perception of reading and possibly stem a root of passion to continue this hobby.

To sum up, although it is undeniable that children may find reading books dull and uninteresting by virtue of other attractive hobbies or technology distractions, choices of books and downtime restrictions should be taken into account to cultivate the frequent of reading.