It is often said that governments spend much on projects to protect wildlife while there are other problems that are more important. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, it is believed that the funds allocated to protecting wild animals is way too much whereas there are other sectors which are vital. In my opinion, I disagree with this belief.

There are some compelling reasons why I believe spending on wild animals is not a waste. Firstly, the part of the project can focus on feeding and this make the animals enticing to its visitors. This is because they will be well fed and looking healthy. How can a chimpanzee be jumping from one height to another its hungry?. Also, the environment of the zoo they are kept in will be well kept thereby improving their healthy status. For instance, the environment of the University of Ibadan's zoo is very comfortable and the creatures neat and healthy that tourists take a shot with them without being irritated. If the state do not spend on protecting them, nobody will.

Others might disagree and say that such funds be better spent on in solving other vital problems such as health sector and citizens safety. Undoubtedly, some importance are attached to these. However, I tend to disagree that the wild life has taken much of the government income. This is because they are animals and cannot cater for themselves except someone does that. For instance, a female Whale was seen stranded on the seashore probably because of hunger, but because it is not human and can be dangerous, it was killed and its meat shared among the residents. If much provision have been made for these creatures, such incidence would not have occurred.

In conclusion, it is my opinion that no amount of money spent on wildlife protection is too much. If there is need to fund other sectors, the government can always generate or raise funds elsewhere.