Some people think that parents should teach their children how to become good members of the society. School is a place to learn this. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Moral education should be the responsibility of every parents, learning institution is not the right place to acquire this. While I understand this claim, I would argue that moral virtue can still be learnt in schools

It is often argued that it is the sole responsibility of every parents to bring out the best in their wards in order for them to be good citizens. Proponents of this claim that every parents wants the best for their children, so they instill in them moral virtue such as honesty, responsibilities and respect for others. For example, every first child in a typical Nigerian family takes full responsibility of their younger ones once they graduates from school and have gotten a good job.

However, I tend to disagree that school should not be a place to learn good morals and there are convincing arguments for this. Firstly, the mission of schools has been to develop in the young ones both intellectual and moral virtues. This means that the teachers are capable in teaching both academic works and good behaviors. Admittedly, some children due to over-familiarity with their parents lacks manners. The school mould such child into becoming someone with societal value. Also, students mix with various race, personality culture and languages in their learning institution, this seems appears to help them cope and maintain good behaviors with such in the future. On the long run, schools still turn up to be the domain for moral education.

To sum up, I believe that school is the best place to learn how to become good citizens as they try to cope with diverse culture and maintaining a good stand from the scratch.