It is suggested that primary children should learn how to grow vegetables and keep animals. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

There is a tendency for primary schools to encourage schoolchild to plant floras and breed faunas. From my perspective, the benefits of this trend tend to surpass the downsides in light of the following compelling reasons.

On the one hand, facilitating to grow vegetables and feeding animals might bring about a plethora of outstanding advantages to a schoolchild. To begin with, this encouragement might provide children with a precious opportunity to get access to a healthy and reliable source of food. Take Vietnam as a prime example, self-sufficient source of vegetables and meats stemming from the school-based farms is likely to help schoolchild to steer clear of food poisoning. Another advantage of this trend is to raise learners’ awareness of the vitality of environmental protection. This is because human activities these days have caused grave consequences to the environment, including flooding and landslides. As a result, should young learners are taught to grow plants and raise animals, this will nurture an array of nature lovers which hinders the environment from being severely polluted.

On the other hand, getting exposure to plantation and animals feeding could trigger several unanticipated problems to a schoolchild. First and foremost, it is undeniable that bacterias and infectious viruses from animals could put schoolchild’s health at high risks. This is because a schoolchild tends to downplay the importance of hygiene acknowledgement after feeding the animals, which, in turn, might facilitate viruses to penetrate their body and cause health-related problems such as respiratory problems. In tandem with this, insects from the soil once children grow plants might also affect learners’ health. This is because parasites from polluted soil might prolong their lives for hours on children’s hands, which, might lead to digestion-related diseases in children.

In conclusion, although the drawbacks of growing vegetables and animals feeding can not be overlooked, it is my firm conviction that the positive outcomes of this trend are inclined to far outweigh its negative effects.