It is true to say that in some nations many people struggling with a wide range of diseases due to consuming excessive junk food.

It is true to say that in some nations many people struggling with a wide range of diseases due to consuming excessive junk food. In such a context, it is averred that authorities have to raise the price of this food by imposing a higher tax. I am inclined to aver that this idea is increasingly under fire and I completely disagree with it for a multitude of cogent reasons.

It is crystal clear that almost everyone knows that eating fast food consistently and in a great amount may deteriorate their health. However, some people such as vulnerable members of society have not any other alternative options to select. Due to the low price of junk food and far higher cost of healthy and nutritious foods, destitute people have to eat fast food to fulfill their hunger. Therefore, if the price goes up they will, incontrovertibly, suffer to find another cheap food to eat. Besides, many people are employed in the fast food market and they may lose their career as a result of this policy which contributes to eating less easy to prepared food.

From an ethical perspective, individuals are free to choose what they eat and the health-planners have no right to deter people from eating fast food by incrementing the price of it. There are far better and more practical methods to obviate health issues caused by consuming unhealthy foods. As a case in point, people could be informed in terms of the dangers of fast food via social media or special campaigns. In addition to this, the local administrative system has to provide affordable and healthy food for the less affluent people and encourage them to shift their eating habits from fast food to organic meals.

To sum up, it is clear that enacting a higher tax on junk food is top-down legislation and more sagacious tactics have to be implemented to obviate health problems occurred due to eating abundant fast food.