Keeping Animals in Captivity is Cruel There is no Reason for Zoos to Exist in 21st Century How Far You Agree or Disagree with This Opinion

There has been much discussion revolving around the issue of whether zoos should survive in the 21st century. Although zoos might be beneficial to some extent, they would replace by other methods of animal conservation.

Initially, animals lose their hunting ability when held in captivity. In zoos, animals are fed, bathed, and lived by staff so that they do not need to search for food and hunt for prey. Consequently, animals gradually lost the animal's ability to run fast, hunting, and survival characteristics. As a result, animals in zoos could not serve if they were released into the natural environment. I shall make reference to 2019, a tiger in Botanical Garden, a park in Hanoi city, was released back into the wild under the supervision of researchers in 2 months. Therefore, this tiger can not catch the bait by itself because it runs at a much lower speed than the tiger, with an average running speed (49-65km/h), and has no hunting skills.

Admittedly, zoos educate people to respect wild animals. However, when animals are imprisoned in an iron cage, people have no scare them so zoos do not teach people to respect animals. For example, last 2 years, I visited zoos with my family and saw some people throwing rocks at elephants to get their attention. That shows that they are hurting the elephant without any respect.

In conclusion, zoos should be replaced with wildlife sanctuaries to ensure habitat for animals.