Lack of fresh water is becoming a global issue of increasing importance What problems does this shortage cause What measures could be taken to overcome these problems

Water shortage is nowadays gaining a significant place in the worldwide forum as a problem of great importance. In fact, according to the researches, fresh water is a limited resource in some parts of the world. This essay will illustrate the main problems caused by this issue and will also elicit certain steps that can help the national authorities and individuals in controlling this growing water scarcity.

In order to find effective solutions to the problem, it is necessary to understand what has brought about this shortage. First of all, lacking of fresh water ends up with an elimination of the global surge in potable water requirement. The overpopulation of the metropolitan areas has caused the phenomenon of urbanization followed by this vast surge in fresh water. As a result, the water that is available for daily use is not sufficient and furthermore, may be contaminated leading to illnesses and deaths, for example, in populations of Africa. Secondly, water scarcity is becoming a major problem for agriculture and industry. When there is insufficient water, crops fail, animals die and human go hungry. Without an adequate water supply, manufacturers, food producers, mining operation and businesses cannot succeed. Ultimately, water is the key to economic prosperity.

A number of urgent measures need to be taken in order to solve the problem. National authorities, firstly, can control this water shortage by reducing global warming and climate change. Strict national legislations for preventing natural fresh water reserve pollution are also required. Similarly, public can also contribute towards this noble cause by conserving water and also by limiting their daily household water usage. They should refrain themselves from performing such as watering lawns in the summer, or pouring our grey water down the drain.

To sum up, the scarcity of fresh water is a growing global problem, there are various means and methods available, by which both the government and individuals can prevent this from worsening.