The last two decades have seen enormous changes in the way people’s lives are affected by IT, with many
advances in this field. However, while these technological advances have brought many benefits to the world,
it can be argued that these developments in IT will result in more negative impacts than positive.
To begin, email has made communication, especially abroad, much simpler and faster, resulting in numerous
benefits for commerce and business. Furthermore, the World Wide Web means that information on every
conceivable subject is now available to us. For example, people can access news, medical advice, online
education courses and much more via the internet. It is evident that these improvements have made life far
easier and more convenient for large numbers of people and will continue to do so for decades to come.
Nevertheless, the effects of this new technology have not all been beneficial. For example, many people feel
that the widespread use of email is destroying traditional forms of communication such as letter writing,
telephone and face-to-face conversation. This could result in a decline in people’s basic ability to socialize and
interact with each other on a day-to-day basis.
In addition, the large size of the Web has meant that it is nearly impossible to regulate and control. This has led
to many concerns regarding children accessing unsuitable websites and viruses. Unfortunately, this kind of
problem might even get worse in the future at least until more regulated systems are set up.