Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how?

Everyone belongs to different culture and so, speaks various kinds of languages. Amongst all, English is considered to be the most significant language. Usually, English language is getting more attention than other languages. Due to this, many languages are on the verge of dying out. According to me, one should always try to learn English along with the survival of local languages.

English has been referred as the globally accepted language as it has been a common base for communication with each other through English, which is a common interpreting language. Tourism is one such field where a common language plays a major role and English has become prominent in this field. Furthermore, the English language has also attained its place in the professional world. All corporate meetings and presentations are carried out in English in almost all countries. Thus, in order for children to stand out in crowd, English is considered the most essential language to learn at school.

On the contrary, due to large acceptance of English language at school, other local languages are at risk of disappearance. Each country has its own culture and native language which should be taught at school. The local languages have their own advantages and importance as that of English language. Losing to survive the local language will create a havoc in terms of tradition and culture. One needs to preserve his culture by teaching local languages at school because it creates a unique identity for the local people.

To conclude, school shall teach children about English as well as local languages as the importance of both of them is equivalent. People should create awareness about the significance of local languages through programmes, movies and books. Also, schools should start practicing to include different activities based on local languages.