Light corporal punishment is being reintroduced in schools of U.K. What are the disadvantages and advantages oc it? Discuss.

Light corporal punishment is the punishment in which physical force is used to cause pain or any discomfort to school students but in light way. The most controversial issue today relates to should light corporal punishment in schools of U.K.; it should be reintroduced or not? I will examine this topic from both points of views.

On one side of the arguement there are some people who believe that light corporal punishments should be practised in schools. The main reason for believing this is that implementation of such punishments will help to create discipline in the schools. Punishments foster the feeling of fear in students which results in improvement of behaviour towards study as well as students also start following rules and regulations which helps the schools to maintain decorum. For instance, teachers of Harkrishan school which is situated in Amritsar, in India, where such punishments were practiced in school which stated an amazing result, this school got first prize at national level in discipline. Hence, teachers in India started acknowledging light corporal punishments.

On the other hand, it is also possible to make opposing case. It is often argued that infact light corporal punishments adversely affects students not only physically but mentally as well. It makes the child stubborn and also brodens the difference between student and teacher relationship, due to which students hesitate to clear their doubts in studies. Moreover, sometimes teachers beat students in order to satisfy their frustrations. A survey was conducted in U.K. by Canbridge University which stated that nearly about 80 percent of assault and physicel voilence complaints were filled against teacher in 2016.

As we have seen there are number of answers to this question. On balance, however, I tend to believe that since disadvantages outweighs advantages, therefore, such punishments should be abolished from nation.