Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems as well as pratical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

As 21 century continues to unfold, the frontiers are becoming blurred in an accelerating pace and people travel more widely. Although some individuals would argue that learning and speaking host language processes can lead to some social issues, others claim that these types of obstacles have become vague because of wide array of reasons. To my mind, nowadays nations are less isolated, thanks to technological advances and the internet. What should travelers or immigrants do in order to decrease these side effects to the least possible amount?

On the one hand, some psychological studies have shown that being in a foreign country and learning to speak their language create various problems like misunderstanding. Moreover, when people are exposed to a new environment with totally different convention and tradition makes you feel loneliness and anxious as they would find themselves at crossroads whether to blend in with the local culture or to cherish their own cultural heritage. Consequently, it can lead to many psychological and mental disorders. Unfortunately, some societies are xenophobic and discriminate against foreigners and newcomers.

On the other side of the spectrum, many individuals especially new generations are able to get along with host country’s culture and language because they have access to boundless sources of information through social media and the internet to instill adopt countries values and languages before they emigrate there. Not only do not they experience culture shock and language barriers in the severe amount, but also they can merge into new society effortlessly. In addition, there are some countries which are key-destinations for new emigrants because they are multi-cultural and newcomers will be able to find their social status with out facing deprivations. A salient example is Canada as a most famous melting pot country.

To make a long story short, based on the aforementioned arguments, upgrading our knowledge in numerous ways such as reading and researching about new communities would remove barriers which may cause despair and other difficulties. If we broaden our horizon, we will find it easy to approach to this controversial issue and conquer it.