Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems

Opinion is divided as to whether living in a foreign country and speaking the local language may lead to a social problem. In my opinion, I disagree with a conflict that comes from language because people always understand foreigners very well, misunderstanding in conversation is acceptable. As well, people who live in a foreign land has the skill to adapt themselves to a different culture.

There are many people who live in a foreign country for many purposes; studying, working or just living. In a specific city like Bangkok, there are over millions of Chinese live in there. Many of them were unwilling to speak Thai even it is the local language, so that contracting between local people and foreigners always had trouble due to misunderstanding, and led to a social problem. However, these days many foreigners, coming from Europe and China, start to speak Thai. Consequently, communication between these people is far more efficient. Even though a foreigner may not talk fluently but local people always try to communicate with them patiently.

Moreover, it is well known that human has a special skill for adapting themselves to a different culture or situation very well. Thus, living in a foreign country is possible. First, they learn how to communicate with local people which takes a quite long time. In the meantime, they are learning behaviors and cultures from experience. For example, driving in Thailand and Australia are similar in terms of the right side, but rules and norms are not. Most of Thais may have unusual driving habits. Later on, they can adapt from people’ warning or watching. The example shows that human has a flexibility skill, unlike other mammals. So, foreigners can live properly in any country as long as they are not criminals or burglaries.