Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems

Not surprisingly, people who live oversea will encounter many intense difficulties because of language and culture barriers. As a result, I totally believe this can lead to many serious social problems and practical problems for the following reasons.

The main reason that having to speak a foreign language can cause social problems is through breaking down understanding when interacting with local people. Language is the most powerful to bring the people around the world together that helps them to communicate and understand each other. Therefore, the language barrier prevents people who might not be able to speak and understand the language to get along with the community in other countries. Another reason is the cultural disparity that people have inappropriate behaviors to offend the inhabitant’s norms. For instance, in Thailand, people raise their thumbs to others if they desire to commend. However, this expression is very impolite in Australia so it can cause dissatisfaction to their neighbors and have a strong impact on their social life if a person settles down in Australia.

With regard to practical problems, it’s apparent to see when people find a job. An individual who works in a foreign country might not behave in a particular culture with whom he serves. For example, if an individual works in a restaurant, people might make mistakes to offend others due to misunderstanding of culture so they can face some difficulties in making ends meet.

In conclusion, not knowing a language as well as cultural gaps when living abroad can cause social unrest and pragmatic concern to integrate well in a community at all. In my opinion and from my experience, people should prepare and gain knowledge to easily overcome the serious obstacles.