Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems

It is argued that people who live in foreign countries have possibility to result in harsh social and practical problems. I agree that non-native speakers could induce some problems in their daily life but do not think that they are serious problems.

People who have to speak in foreign languages sometimes undergo difficulties from various respects. The most common difficulty is communication needed for their life such as buying groceries in market or taking transportations. For example, when I was in France, I had difficulties reading the name of groceries in market, since it was written in French, which I have no knowledge about. Because of this, I had to ask about the product to workers. Likewise, many foreign people suffer from similar problems. Thus miscommunications can be a social and practical problem.

Even though it seems obvious that non-native speakers have some social and practical troubles, it does not mean that it is a vastly serious problem. As we have many helpful resources for solving those problems, we can overcome foreign people's problems. For instance, thanks to the development of technology, electric translator can be utilized to help communication between different language speakers. Also, national policies to support foreign people would be positive to alleviate the social and practical problems. Offering public documents in various languages could be one of those policies. For example, Korean public affair facilities provide public document not only in Korean but also in English.

To sum up, I admit that some social and practical problems are caused by people who speak a foreign language, however we can surmount them with up-to-date translators and policies supporting foreign languages of government.