As major cities in the world are growing today, so do their problems. What are problems for young people who are living in the cities as the result of continued growth? How problems might be solved?

Many young people living in the growing cities are said to have more opportunity to develop and fulfill their personalities. Contrast to this belief, they are facing many problems and to solve these problems, young people need the help from not only their families but also from the society.

Young people in growing cities are having trouble in terms of social skills and nature appreciation. First, as many young people living in major cities have advantage to get access to the latest modern technology, they spend too much time with those technologies and forget about hanging around with real friends and having read conversations. It is a common scene now when one walks into a coffee shop and sees youngsters sitting next to each other keep looking at their smartphones or taking photos of the food in stead of talking. Second, many young people living in big cities may stand a better chance of having better education, but at the same time they are digressing further and further from nature. In developing cities, people are surrounded with high concrete buildings, not with giant trees with large shades. Young people have got used to these scenes and thus, they do not know how to appreciate nature. If young people now cannot love nature, it is hard to assure that the next generation will protect the environment better than we do today.

In my opinion, these problems can be solved by two solutions: raising awareness and applying practical methods. First, raising awareness is of most important, as awareness is the root of actions. To exemplify, parents should use certain measures and talk to their children about how to use modern technology properly. If children understand how detrimental technology can become when being overused, they will learn to use it wisely. Thus, when growing up, these young citizens will help protect the green life. Second, practical applications will help the young people more active in dealing with their problems. Parents and societies should spend time on guiding young people since they are little kids. Activities such as planning trees, teaching children how to take care of small plants in their houses are good to develop children’s love for nature.

In conclusion, with the sharp growth of cities in the world, young people living there are having both advantages and disadvantages. With the two most common problems are social skills and environmental awareness, raising awareness as well as having practical applications since young citizens are merely kids are two measures I believe will have positive effects.