Many believe that individuals can do little to improve the environment. Only governments and large companies can make a real difference.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The topic of how much individuals can actually contribute to the sustainability of the environment is debatable, however, it is only when each individual engages in actions relating to sustainable goals that it is possible to protect the environment. The main reason is that each person can contribute in their communities and the surroundings of these communities combinedly affect the environment.

Human actions affect the environment directly and there is sufficient evidence for that. Scientists have found that when humans reduce the consumption of non-renewables and other sources of pollutions, the environment recovers and sometimes even integrates into a more eco-friendly system. This is because in natural systems everything is used efficiently by something else and nothing is wasted.

On the other hand, the contribution of single human beings compared to billions of humans on planet earth might be quite insignificant to cause any reasonable change. Humans have not been able to find a good balance of technologies that does not negatively affect the ambience of their communities. Hence, even if we keep our houses clean but due to the individualistic nature of such actions, in general, the overall nature is damaged.

Many industries and companies have huge power over the resources in the environment and can cause drastic changes. If these large organizations are not careful, they might cause severe environmental damaged that might lead to natural disasters. For example, the Tokyo nuclear spill that caused millions of toxic waste to be dumped into the cities in 2011 was due to government inaction and lack of risk mitigation from the company.

To conclude, every human being must realize the extent of damage that their actions cause on the environment and build up coordination action plan to tackle the environmental problems both on a small as well as macro scale. It is only through a combination of individualistic and team effort that we can dream of a sustainable and cleaner planet in the future.