In many cities today, most people live in large apartment block. Does this kind of accommodation have more advantages than disadvantages?

Over the past few years, we have seen a considerable growing tendency for people to live in a large apartment block along with the uncontrolled growth of cities. However, in my opinion, the drawbacks of living in this type of house far outweigh its benefits.

To begin with, it is an indisputable fact that living in an apartment can help people to reduce financial pressure. It is generally agreed that renting or buying an apartment is usually less expensive than renting or building a house. In addition, apartment blocks are often located near the central area, as a result, living in this kind of accommodation provides people with plenty of accessibilities to more variety of entertainments, better education opportunities and health services.

On the other hand, when living in apartments, people have been suffered from restricted spaces that can limit their lifestyles. For example, most residential buildings do not allow apartment owners to keep pets at home because of hygiene regulations. This example illustrates that people are not able to do everything they want even in their own home when living in a big apartment block. Another problem comes from the neighbourhood which can be extremely annoying sometimes. For instance, when the boy next door is having a big party and the music is too loud that you can not sleep, what will you do if he refuses to turn down the volume? People are not capable to avoid encountering such issues in their daily lives.

In conclusion, it seems to me that the disadvantages of living in the apartment are more significant than its advantages.