Many countries are experiencing population growth and need more homes. Should these homes be constructed in existing cities or should new towns be built in the countryside?

Due to the growth in population that a number of countries are experiencing, there is need of building new houses. From my point of view, new houses should be built not too far from existing cities. In this essay, I will explain why and how this process should take place.

Living quite close or inside a city has many advantages. Firstly, cities offer more services to their inhabitants such as cinemas, libraries and job opportunities than small towns or villages in the countryside. Secondly, cities usually have efficient transport systems. Therefore, who live close to the city centre may use public transport and be environmentally friendly, whereas the ones who live in the countryside may need to use their own cars to be involved in the activities of a city, a thing now almost mandatory in our society. Lastly, by building houses inside or close to a city rather than in the countryside, green areas of the countryside will not be spoiled, thereby they will keep serve the purpose of producing oxygen. However, people need to live in green and quiet areas.

Thus, new houses within a city should be surrounded by trees and be away from busy roads. Trees are fundamental to cool the air, absorb pollutants and relax people's brains. It has been reported that cities where there are few trees are more polluted than the ones with more trees, and this has lead to poor quality of life of their citizens. Very important is that new houses are to be built away from motorways because noise and pollution negatively affect the wellbeing of the people who live close by.

In conclusion, living in a city, or close to it, has many advantages for a person, and it is also useful to preserve the nature of country areas. However, people who live in a city should have enough green areas around their houses and be away from busy roads such as motorways in order not to have a poor quality of life.