Many countries around the world are turning to renewable forms of energy to supply their power needs.

Is this a positive or negative development?

Many countries are replacing their traditional sources of energy with renewable ones to meet their needs. Although there are some drawbacks of this switch, I hold that it is an overall positive trend.

Focusing on the negatives first, perhaps the main one would be huge expenses associated with alternative sources of energy. Governments need to invest a large proportion of their budget if they are to install wind turbines, solar panels and build dams to generate hydro power. For such developing countries as Uzbekistan, Kazakhstan and even Russia, where the most basic social needs of education and healthcare are not as advanced as those of developed countries, spending large sums of money on renewable energy may seem unreasonable. Secondly, because renewable energy supplies are relatively new domains of knowledge, where will these countries find expertise to help implement this change? The key to solving this is again leading us to finance, which developing countries tend to lack.

In spite of the drawbacks mentioned above, I would argue that this is a positive development for various reasons. For one, with our current fossil fuel consumption rates, we are not going far. Sooner or later, the riches of the earth will run out, leaving us no chance but to resort to alternative sources of power, so if it is certain that we turn to them, there is no point procrastinating to do so. In addition to this, it is true that the environment is suffering significantly from burning fossil fuels like coal, gas and petrol. Shifting to renewable types of power is to provide our future generations with cleaner air to breath, purer water to drink, avoiding illnesses associated with pollution from using traditional sources of power, and saving wildlife as we have seen oil spills and their concomitant consequences.

While changing our sources of power to renewable ones might seem as an insurmountable challenge financially, I maintain that we gain more than we lose from this development for personal and environmental reasons.