In many countries around the world, life expectancy is increasing. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this situation and give your opinion.

Nowadays, many people around the world are living longer to their eighties or nineties on account of advanced medical services and discoveries. It brings an optimistic view of successful social welfare and policies enacted by governments. While some people believe increased expectancy to be beneficial for society, others resent it due to some major drawbacks.

On the one hand, it is indisputable that prolonged expectancy results in the longer contribution of senior workers to the labor market. To be more specific, experienced workers’ continuation at work can boost productivity at work, which eventually helps create a thriving economy and competitive working environment. In addition, the fact that more and more people are living longer is a remarkable indication that living standards have been improved significantly, enhancing citizens’ happiness and satisfaction in their daily lives.

On the other hand, the increasing number of elderly people also has some detrimental impacts on governments as well as younger generations. First and foremost, older people will become passive citizens after their retirements, being dependent on governmental assistance. For instance, a retiree will be entirely reliant on the government pension scheme, which leaves officials with the challenge to provide sufficient healthcare services and proper support while not draining the public’s wallet by raising tax rates. Moreover, elderly people lay massive financial burdens on their offspring and relatives since they are incapable of making money, putting their loved ones under unbearable pressure to feed their families.

In conclusion, looking at both sides of the situation, while prolonged expectancy provides some crucial benefits, from my perspective, I believe it is undesirable to have an aging population outnumber the young and energetic generations.