In many countries children are engaged in some kinds of paid work. Some people regard this as completely wrong, while others consider it as valuable work experience, important for learning and taking responsibility.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In this day and age, the range of ages for working has been further expanded. In various nations, businesses and corporations have started to recruit young children, which is causing conflicting opinions. Some people support this phenomenon by claiming it as an invaluable chance for youngsters’ development, whilst others argue that it could be detrimental to the juveniles. This essay will provide an analysis into both sides and present a personal perspective on the issue.

On the one hand, early working is supposed to have a damaging effect on children’s lives. This is to say, the young may suffer from physical and mental problems during the premature course of work. Regarding the physical problems, it is reported that some children are given labour-intensive tasks which may exceed their physical endurance. That, consequently, results in fatigue and in the long run would possibly leave the kids with horrendously permanent injuries. Additionally,as not being sufficiently equipped with skills and life experiences, teenage workers potentially run the risk of being bullied at work, which may leave them with a distorted impression on working.

On the other hand, participating in the work-labour is proven to benefit youngsters’ growth to some extent. First of all, it is the exposure to real-life working environments that facilitate the youth with necessary skills which are said as not being acquired elsewhere. For example, teenagers could enhance their communication and conflict-management skills via partaking in conversations and collaboration with others in a serious job setting, which seems more rewarding than a mere discussion or group work session at school. On a higher level, being a member of the workforce is an optimal approach in educating youngsters with the value of working. The more demanding the job, the more rewarding the effort is, and thus children could gain a clearer perception of work.

In conclusion, there has been a heated controversy over the issue of children engaging in paid work prematurely. From my personal perspective, I would support the latter viewpoint, which condones the phenomena as it provides juveniles with chances to get exposed to the real-life working environment for perception and skills development. Risky as it may be, the rewards from early working seem to outweigh its negative sides.