Some people think it is more important to spend money on roads and motorways than on public transport systems. To what extent do you agree?

Deteriorations in the traffic infrastructure of many major cities, causing regrettable accidents, have recently resulted in a lot of heated debates. There is a school of thought holding that more financial resources should be invested into enhancing roads and motorways, rather than public transport systems. From my own perspective, though it is understandable why some people maintain this viewpoint, there are tons of compelling reasons why public transport should take precedence.

To commence with, it is hard to overstate the benefits of improving roads and motorways in any cities. With a better traffic infrastructure, cities can directly prevent the exponential increase of traffic accidents that are caused by run-down roads and motor lanes. Another reason is that roads and motorways can alter the way people judge the economic prosperity of a country. For instance, when comparing the traffic infrastructure in Japan and that in Italy, one can instantly reach the conclusion that the government budget in Italy is limited seeing many incomplete road constructions and dirty pavements.

That said, this argument pales in comparison with a myriad of benefits when public transport is prioritized. Ongoing worrying issues like air quality degradation and traffic congestion in crowded cities can be alleviated. With more modern trains or buses, people are encouraged to take public transport to commute to and from work and hence, cities can cut down a substantial amount of exhaust fumes released from personal vehicles such as cars and motorbikes. As a result, air pollution can be addressed properly, leaving people a cleaner living environment.

In terms of the tourist industry, enhancing public transport systems also yields fruitful consequences. In fact, most visitors opt for public transport as they want to tour a destination for its affordability and accessibility. Public transport systems, therefore, can help promote tourism with meticulous planning and management. A prime example is the case of hop-on-hop-off buses and public bicycle schemes in Ho Chi Minh City, which have elevated the city’s reputation significantly in the perspectives of foreigners.

In general, it is not sagacious to shift more focus to developing roads and motorways and disregard the necessity of public transport systems. With judicious policies, cities can benefit greatly from the improvement of public transport networks.