Many countries import a large amount of food from other parts of the world. Is this a positive or negative development?

In modern times, there has been a surge in a huge amount of foodstuff produced by other parts all over the world that are imported to meet domestic needs by numerous governments. In my perspective, this tendency has both positive and negative effects in equal measure.

On the one hand, there are wealth of advantages can be gained by the trend. The most would be that in doing so, local citizens can be widen loads of choices in the food market in which have a wide range of brands, products, quality and diverse prices. Owing to various market, customers can satisfactorily go to expenses food which are not appropriate their income, but highly quality and particularly suitable for their needs. With respect to domestic companies, chains of retail stores like supermarkets and grocery stores would have more valuable options to select the best supplier with intriguing deals making a huge profit. Furthermore, this trend makes a paramount contribution to the increasing expenditures of residents leading to growth significantly state budgets by taxes. Especially, some kinds of food can be cultivated in certain weather condition of imported nations due to unfavorable conditions, lack of technical equipment, poor farming and manufacturing methods and so on. In some cases, Japan, for instance, the import’ spending on some sort of meat like beef is more affordable than national one.

One the other hand, the downside of this tendency should not be overlooked in several reasons. With respect to quality of some kinds of foodstuff, especially fresh food like vegetation, meat, seafood, and other, some preservatives may be used in order to keep food fresh during a long journey. By doing so, there are adverse impacts on residents’ health. Besides, the usage of transportations such as airplanes, ships has been increasing day in and day out would boost fossil fuel combustion and release tons of carbon dioxide to atmosphere that have detrimental effects on environment. Moreover, it is more likely domestic products must try to take up a struggle with imported on in market. By that it means, some customers would tend to have a bias toward foreign food rather than national ones. If the trend arises, domestic manufactures have a mount of income an unexpected.

In my own view, although I do not deny the importance of importing food to meet residents’ demands, earn a huge amount of profits as well. I still believe the aforementioned trend could pose hindrances to a nation in some ways.