In many countries, paying for things using mobile phone apps is becoming increasingly common. Does this development have more advantages or more disadvantages?

Nowadays, technology is changing our everyday routines and is revolutionizing the way we live.

The most obvious one is the smartphones being programmed with various applications which compacts items like a calculator, camera, and calendar in a small device. Paying with cell phones has also become dominant all over the world and is putting an end to using the cards and cash which I believe is advantageous.

On the one hand, you will definitely have a problem paying with your cell phone when it is out of charge or there is no cellular data available. The wallets in cell phones or the bank applications are also at risk of being hacked or being out of service for hours during the day. What is more, senior citizens are not used to working with smartphones and this trend will be challenging for them. They may prefer to stay at home instead of being in society and becoming more introverted and depressed.

On the other hand, paying with electronic wallets removes the need to carry many cash or credit/debit cards wherever you go which minimizes the risk of theft or missing. As people always have their cell phones in their packet they never miss paying for their shopping. More importantly, in today's life, individuals are looking for the quickest way of doing their tasks, and one common task is shopping. Paying with a cell phone wallet is faster since the cashier does not need to count every cent and dollar or there is no need to enter the pin code of the card each time or try to find your credit/debit card among a number of membership cards.

In conclusion, substitution of electronic wallets with cards and cash has more benefits than the drawbacks as it removes the need for keeping and carrying many cards and money in pocket and speeds up the process of checkout.