In many countries, people do not recycle their rubbish as much as they could.

Why do you think this is? What can be done to change this?

Although waste can easily be converted in to useful materials, recycling of garbage is not often practiced by people of several nations. This could be as a result of some reasons which will be analyzed in this essay as well as measures to amend this stance.

There are diverse reasons for people not recycling their materials. Perhaps, the most compelling being lack of knowledge. People possess little or no information about how or which items are to be reprocessed. A survey carried out by Federal waste management systems of Nigeria in 2017 revealed that 60 percent of the populace are unware of the items to be recycled while 13 percent of them have not heard of recycling. As such, low utilization of recycling process is due to inadequate details of the benefits and how it should be done.

Consequently, having considered why recycling of used items is not done by people, which measures can be taken? The media can be of good advantage. Details of where, how and what to be recycled should be aired to the hearings of the populace. Also, various initiatives should create fliers, billboards to disseminate information about the benefits of recycling to the people and its environment. Lastly, incentives can be offered to people that recycles thes used items regularly. This will not only influence them positively, they would be motivated.

To sum up, the media has a cogent role to play in ensuring people are well-informed of the details and merits of recycling, as lack of necessary information is one of the factors why people do not convert their waste to useful items.