In many countries schools have severe problems with student behavior. What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest?

There is no doubt that students' behavioral problems at schools are a great concern, as so many nations are seeing this phenomenon today. There seem to be two underlying factors, and three methods to eradicate the issue.

Perhaps the main root cause is family problems. This is because children who do not have a chance to experience love, affection, and care at home are more likely to face disturbance not only at home with family members but also at schools with significant others. This disturbed communication may cause children to lose unity, understanding, and individuality, consequently in turn leading to poor academic performance, bullying, absenteeism, and aggression, even to juvenile delinquency in extreme situations. Another less-discussed factor is psychiatric disorders, by which I mean it is common that students suffering from severe mental disorders such as conduct disorders, oppositional-defiant disorders, attention deficit hyperactivity disorders (known as ADHD), and disability learning disorders may have not been diagnosed and behaved like other normal students accordingly. Such pupils with these common mental illnesses for children appear to not have self-control and discipline and need professional help and are more prone to behavior problems and extreme behavior.

Turning to possible solutions, it would be advisable to tackle the problem from a coordinated three-level measure: Parents, teachers, and school authorities. Firstly, the most effective step would be educating family members, especially parents as to how they can connect and behave with their vulnerable children in a positive, caring manner in order to alleviate children's problems. Establishing a close, working relationship between parents and children would create a safe atmosphere for children to explore their abilities and modify their negative behavior. Secondly, teachers should have a one-on-one talk with every student to find out about their needs and possible problems that children themselves may not face and seek help. Were they to confront a student struggling with a serious problem, they would refer him or her to a child psychologist or pediatric expert, which may undoubtedly prevent the situation from being worse. Finally, with creating well-researched techniques, for example, Token Economy, school authorities can promote positive behavior at schools and encourage students who have problems with laws to obey school regulations in the hope of earning more points, or tokens to receive a prize.

In conclusion, the disturbed family and prevalent, undiagnosed psychological disorders seem to be the main causes, and coordinated response by parents, teachers, and schools may well lessen the severity of the situation.