In many countries, the tradition of families having meals together is disappearing. Why is this happening? What will be the effects of it on the family and society?

It is true that people nowadays spend much less time on eating together with their family than in the past. There are some reasons which can be put forward to explain this changing pattern of behavior and several problems have resulted from this tendency.

There are some obvious reasons why people no longer take their time for family meals. Firstly, many young people are prioritizing their time on their jobs. To move up to a higher position on career ladder, some officers have to stay at the office till midnight to complete a ton of tasks that when they come back home all family members have finished the dinner. Further more, as a result of globalization, people can travel to other countries to work. Consequently, they are not able to meet their families let alone eat together everyday.

This trend also has bad influences in both family life and health status. The first drawback is that parents can lose the chance to strengthen the relationship with their offspring. Meals taken together are precious time for people to share about their days and parents can encourage or give reasonable guidance for their children if they are in trouble. Secondly, the one who eat alone is not likely to pay attention to nutrition. They sometimes have snacks, junk foods at fast food chains or even forget their meals. Health consequences such as obesity, digestive disorders, often result when people fail to eat a balance diet as used at a family mealtimes.

In conclusion, some reasons are identified for the decline in the time people use for family meals and the impacts are overwhelmingly negative.