People should follow the customs and traditions when people start to live in a new country. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Upon commencing a new life in a new foreign country, people often face a dilemma of whether they should stick to their cultural values or adhere to the local lifestyle. Although living up to the standards is legitimate on a certain level, I still believe that adaption to the host country’s traditional practices is sorely essential to immigrants.

On the one hand, it is difficult for new residents if they do not follow customs and traditions of native country. Expatriates who are unwilling to adhere to the new cultural ideas and behaviors might have to the face the hostility from the locals and suffer from the sense of isolation from society. Obviously if a person leads a bizarre lifestyle, he is not able to get on well with his neighbors. Furthermore, it is impossible for a business to break into a new market if they do not conform to the norms of social behaviors in the host country. There are bound to be many pitfalls, not only legal ones, but also winning and keeping customers. For instance, you are certainly boycotted if you open a restaurant serving pork in a Muslim country like Malaysia, Morocco…

On the other hand, there are numerous benefits for foreigners who integrate to local beliefs and behaviors. Firstly, it is easier to accommodate to a new surrounding if newcomers could adapt to native environment. Local residents seem to be more easygoing and helpful with people who respect for their cultural values. Secondly, foreigners can build up a strong relationships with the local when they take part in traditional events of host country. This friendship may be useful when we are in need. For example, when a Korean need to make a claim with the police about the crime occurred with him in Hanoi, a Vietnamese friend will be the most suitable supporter.

In conclusion, it seems to me that the immigrants should learn to adapt themselves to live in harmony in the exotic country by complying with its traditional conventions.