The widespread use of the Internet gives people more freedom at home instead of going to work or college. Do you think its advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that the dramatic increase in the usage of the Internet allows people to work or even study at home more easily. While this may bring about some benefits, I would argue that the potential problems are greater.

On the one hand, there are a number of good impacts when people stay at home and work or learn through the internet. The first advantage is that their time tables are more flexible. They can arrange time to fit their personal schedules and take the advantage of waiting interval to do house work which is impossible if they are at office or university. Furthermore, they do not have to drive to workplace or college. As a result, they do not need to take a long, exhausted time on a busy, noisy road, and of course, can save a lot of money from car parking fee, fuel expense…

On the other hand, it seems to me that the drawbacks can prevail over the merits. A home worker will miss the chance to work with lots of colleagues from different backgrounds, which enables them to gain many valuable experience. If they only stay at home, they will not know how to build up a strong relationship with other workers and how to manage conflicts. Secondly, the effect of studying online can be harmed by the explosion of social networks and other entertainment services. In fact, without any controlling and forcing from teachers, students would spend many hours a day on playing games, chatting with friends on Facebook, watching film on Youtube and not much on reading academic documents.

In conclusion, although the widespread use of the internet brings about both positive and negative effect in occupation and education at home, I believe that the disadvantages exceed the advantages.