Many countries want to host international sports events, while other countries think that hosting sports events has more problems than benefits. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

International sporting events have been shown to entice millions of spectators around the globe. The attention they garner proves to be lucrative to some nations but seems problematic to others. This essay will discuss both the ramifications and benefits associated with organising and hosting such events on a large scale.

On the one hand, international sports matches can be the catalyst that worsens the alarming problem of pollution worldwide. There comes a great need for transportation and living arrangements for athletes and sports fanatics alike, leading to great amounts of exhaust fumes discharged from vehicles and wastewater into the environment. Furthermore, a large body of tourists often leaves behind heaps of litter and plastic bags in their wake. In the aftermath of a multinational competition, the hosting venues are those that most suffer the problem of augmented pollution, which then disrupts the livelihoods of natives.

On the other hand, international sporting competitions endow nations with numerous advantages. Firstly, the improved facilities required to accommodate world-class tournaments are invaluable to grassroots sports development. To those who aspire to become athletes, being able to practice in a high-quality and well-equipped facility such as Olympic-sized swimming pools or premium-graded ice rinks is a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity. Provided with such resources, the up-and-coming sportsmen and women will be nurtured for further development deep in the field. Last but not least, these events are a perfect chance for a nation to promote the national image to an international audience far and wide. With hoards of spectators flooding in, more people will be in contact with the said country. The new knowledge not only creates a distinct value and a strong impression of the host country in the tourists’ mind but also generates business opportunities. Brazil was a case in point. The country successfully managed to gross millions of dollars from selling their traditional Vuvuzela flutes after hosting the 2014 FIFA World Cup.

In the analysis, it is my conviction that the inherent benefits outweigh the resulting problems when acting as a host country for large-scale international sporting events. With suitable measures put in place, pollution can be minimised and merits to be reaped for the prosperity and reputation of a nation and a region on the world map.