Many developing countries are currently expanding their tourist industries Why is this the case Is it a positive development

Nowadays countries try to invest in the tourist industry and develop their tourist facilities dramatically. In this essay, we examine the advantages and disadvantages of this kind of development and try to refer to some of the reasons for such a competition.

Countries need to have a stable source of income to be able to afford their expenditures same as paying the salary of the governments' employees or developing public facilities and so on. It is a long time that many governments realized that the tourist industry has huge capabilities.

First of all, it does not need high-tech technologies to develop. Second, the number of jobs that this industry can produce is far more than other industries. The reason is in this industry at the end you must provide services for humans, therefore, they prefer to communicate with humans. In other words, we cannot replace people with robots in the tourist industry and it means more job positions for people.

Third, this industry can provide services for a varied range of tastes. It means the number of people who absorb tourist attractions can be considerably high. Therefore, countries look at the tourist industry as a stable source of income that can provide many job positions and increase the average income of society.

However, every development has its disadvantages as well. By increasing the number of tourists we need more space to build new facilities like hotels or entertainment sites. Sometimes it has been seen that international companies with an enormous amount of capital tried to purchase whole old buildings of a district and vanished those buildings thoroughly to build a new luxurious hotel.

Such a huge change in a city can force local people to move to some countrysides. Local people may get angry because of these kinds of changes and make them radical or anti-tourists.

It seems governments must provide a balance between the amount of money and supports that they provide for investing in the tourist industry and the negative consequences that such kind of development can have on local people or historical areas of the cities.

Also, we must not neglect the effects of such a development on the environment and the historical sites. If the number of tourists increased more than the capacity of an area, it would cause some unrecoverable damages to the environment.

To sum up, the developing tourist industry has its pros and cons like any other industry. People and government both must make a balance between them to not only enjoy the profits of such a development but also avoid its harmful effects.