Many elderly people are no longer looked after by their families but are put in care or nursing homes. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

There is no doubt that in todays hectic life elderly family members are the least cared about people. There are many advantages of admitting old people in care or nursing homes, but we should also consider the drawbacks of this step. In this essay, I will discuss both the advantages and drrawbacks of this approach and will provide example wherever necessary.

To begin with the positives, the elderly citizens’ enjoy the care and company that they receive in care homes or nursing homes. The reason for this this is, the professional people (nurse and helpers) that are employed in these institutions. These helpers are responsible to take care of physical, mental and emotional needs of the old people. For example, the elderly’s get a regular medical checkup and a health card is maintained for them. Furthermore, from pursuing their hobbies like gardening, pottery or painting to celebrating their birthday, all are planned by these professional institutions for the betterment of old people. In contrast, if these old people stay at home they enjoy more with their grandchildren. As a result, this positive environment keeps them healthy.

Nevertheless, when these old parents are sent off to care or nursing homes no one can measure the amount of sadness and loneliness they feel. This is due to the distance created from the family and friends. For instance, the old people wait for festivals so that they can meet all the relatives. This is the best time for chatting, celebrating and reunion. However, the health of these old people can best be monitored under a professional guidance. As a consequence, medical emergencies are not handled properly thus, leading to loss of life.

In conclusion, while old people receive better medical care in these professional homes but they get more love and affection by family members. The advantages of these professional institution outweigh the drawbacks and so many old people are being put in them.