Some people think that schools have to be more entertaining, while others think that their sole purpose is to educate. Which do you agree with? Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

There is no doubt that a good education system is a back bone of a strong successful society. While some individual believe that, schools should have more fun element to it, others argue that the main aim of school is providing education only. In my opinion, I do not completely agree with it and believe that schools should not only educate but also play a part in child’s overall development.

On the one hand, our education system only concentrates on studies and administer it maximum priority this is because, the students should be focused and oriented towards academics, which will lead them to a path of success. For example, it was observed that there were some schools in UK that prepared students for competitive exams along with daily studies, hence providing better outcomes. In contrast, if students only study with no mental relaxation, life would become monotonous for them. As a result, they would not perform according to their caliber in exams and in life.

On the other hand, schools should include extra-curricular activities like debate, sports day and concerts to enhance the development of a child. The reason is that, it would help a student to understand his likeness, which may motivate him/her in future to make it as a carrier. For instance, in my opinion, I gained a lot of confidence and improved my verbal skills by participating in debates. This helped me in my profession as well as, to get a desired job. In contrast, children may detter from studies due to their over enthusiastic involvement in these activities. As a result, academically their performance would deteriorate, thus leading to problem in choosing a desired job. Therefore, I believe it depends on maturity and will power of student not to indulge too much in these activities and pay attention to studies.

In conclusion, while school must focus on studies more as it is important for career, I believe for an all round development of a child exposure to such extra-curricular activities play an equally important role.