Some people think that all the university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in future, such as science and technology. Discuss both views and give our opinion ?

There is no doubt that choosing a correct subject to pursue it as a carrier has become an important exercise in a students life. While few believe that, all college students should have free will to choose any subject, others argue that they should only choose subjects useful for their future. In this essay, I will discuss both the views and explain my support for the former statement giving relevant examples.

On the one hand, students are made to opt for subjects like science and technology only for better future prospects. This is because, the need for experienced people in these fields have increased exponentially. In order to, make any country economically strong there is a need for more research and infrastructure development. For example, due to the ever increasing population, the doctor-patient ratio has become uneven. There are less doctors as compared to people falling sick and dying. In contrast, when students choose and study subjects of their choice they are more content and dedicated. As a result, they are dedicated towards their goal and make a better future for themselves.

On the other hand, students should be given the privilege to choose any subject they wish and pursue it as a carrier. The reason for this is, the increased confidence and satisfaction they get by doing so. Moreover, this will lead to a happy and content youth. For instance, if a student with interest in music is forced to become a doctor the output and performance would be mediocre. Also, the student would not participate willingly in the progress of this field. However, students should visit counselors and listen to their parents advise. As a consequence, they would be able to choose a subject according to their aptitude and intelligence.

In conclusion, although students nowadays are more focused and competitive in choosing a carrier that would benefit them and society, personally I feel when a choice is made by one’s own mind and heart thus lead to the making of a genius.