Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

There is no doubt that acquiring knowledge of other nation’s language helps in overall development of children. While few people think that primary school is good time and age to learn, others argue that foreign languages can also be studied in secondary school. I do not completely agree with these views and will support my explanation with relevant examples.

On the one hand, learning a foreign language at a later stage of life takes a lot more time and effort to succeed. The reason is that, these teenagers are already mentally matured and burdened with competitive regular courses, which spares them no time to concentrate enthusiastically on secondary languages. For example, according to a report published in the UK newspaper in 2011, it highlighted a mediocre performance in foreign language exams by adolescent learners. However, young scholars should be motivated to learn other languages. As a result, they become more confident with clear carrier goals.

On the other hand, there are plenty of benefits in acquiring these skills at a tender age. This is because, the brain of young school pupils is proactive, which help them to grasp the knowledge and retain it for lifetime. For instance, in my own experience, I learnt Spanish as a regular subject in school. As a result, it helped me intellectually as well as professionally to obtain a desired job in Spain. In contrast, an excess burden on young minds is observed. As a consequence, they tend to avoid this learning process due to monotony and boredom. Therefore, I believe that learning language at any level depends upon the motivation and neuro-cognitive development of a child.

In conclusion, while the advantages of learning other countries’ language at young age are more, we should also consider its drawbacks in the learning process.