Many elderly people are not looked after by their families but are put in a care or nursing homes. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this tread

In recent times, a good number of senior citizens are not cared for by their immediate families, rather,they are being taken to geriatric homes. While nursing the elderly by a professional geriatrician could be one of the benefits, it also has its negative effects, such as feeling of abandonment by their families

One of the merits of taking old persons to a care homes is that they will be looked after by a nurse or doctor trained mainly for that purpose. These professionals bear the responsibility of seeing that senior citizens are cared for by ensuring they are well fed, always in livingly mood, and are in a serene environment, which could prolong their life spans. For instance , a recent study by the American geriatric association revealed that 68% of aged individuals admitted to a retirement home spent the later days of their lives without worries, with many years added to their age. This is because the environment which they found themselves was conducive with passionate nurses and doctors around.

In spite of the positivity that has to do with taking the older ones to a care home, there is also a disadvantage with this trend. As an elderly, having to spend the remaining days of one's life in an environment other than what you were used to can be challenging. This is to say the aged person will have to adjust to new faces and personalities, leaving them with the impression of being abandoned by their own family. The case of Mrs Edith, a 68 year old widow, is a good example. She was taken to a nursing home at the aged of 66. Although her children often visited her, she felt abandoned.

In conclusion, having looked at the opportunity of the elderly being cared for by a professional in the field, when they are taken to care homes could be advantageous, the loneliness and abandonment by families perceived by the old individual is a disadvantage of such act.