Many governments spend millions of dollars in space exploration and research, as they feel it is an important investment; however, many citizens feel that it is a waste of money. Discuss both these opinions and include your own.

Space exploration has become more widespread since the first satellite was sent up to our orbit. This leads to a public controversy that people started to question about whether or not governments should spend lots of money into these projects. In my opinion, I firmly believe that there are more visible issues on Earth waiting to be funded rather than planets waiting to be found.

To begin with, it is undeniable that humans should learn more about the universe in which we are a part of. This may bring us to a possibility of finding an inhabitable planet for human to settle since population growth has been crunching the natural resources now. Due to this fact, scientists need to conduct more space research which require a lot of support from government, which also means that money is crucial to accomplish the task.

On the contrary, even scientists have not even got any clues about how possible they could finally reach a dream planet, but coincidentally natural disasters and pollution are awaiting to be tackled. To put it further, there are millions of people who do not have access to fresh water and food every day, but with a small amount of money that put into those space programs would save millions of lives. An illustration for this point is African people who are suffered from starvation and poor living conditions, and people would feel more pleasant and acceptable to donate and save these people than finding a planet with a mere possibility.

In conclusion, I understand that space programs somewhat play a relatively important role in our modern world, but I think it would be better if the money are spent on more pressing issues nowadays.