Many governments think that economic progress is most important goal. some people, however, think that other types of progress and equally important for a country.

People hold different definitions of goals of a country. While some governments put the economic progress as the first priority, i assume that there are other kinds of progress of the equal importance.

There is no doubt that economic success provides fundamental and essential basis for a coutry`s development. With sufficient investment, the authorities are not only capable to establish infrastructure such as highways, fast trains, and urban and rural transportation systems, but also able to guarantee people`s education, academic or vocational. This can be illustrated by the advanced subway system in many cities in china, as well as the free education for children from elementary school to middle school.

However, the goals of a country ought to be consisted of more aspects than just developing its economy. Firstly, the presmium standards of life can not be guaranteed without a friendly environment, considering that there are expamples in many countries that natural environment has been sacrificed to achieve economy increase. Secondly, the level of health and food safety should play significant roles in the governments` plans. Simply emphasis on economy might lead to overlooking of doing exercise and regular meals. Those who can not ensure 3 meals a today because of endless work need to be taken into consideration by the government.

Moreover, it is also an important symbol of civilization improvement for a country to give enough respect to the ethnic and social minorities.

In conclusion, besides progress in economy, a government should also pursue other types of progress like clean environment, public health, social equality and so on.