Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems.Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is common belief that we are facing severe environmental problems in our time. I think more significant problems should be taken into consideration apart from the extinct of certain plants and animals.

It is a fact that many species of plants and animals are endangered or even have been lost in our planet. People cannot deny the evidence that can be found in the big rivers and forests and the report that polar bears are moving form there used inhabits to look for food.

However, more important damages are being implemented on our environment which are likely to cause further loss of species in the world.

Firstly the soil degradation has become a worldwide scientific issue that will reduce the productivity of land that ensure the sufficient food for human due to abuse use of fertilizers and other chemicals. Secondly, the threat to forest is contributing much to the problem of global warming which will further enhance the level of sea and submerged most coastal cities. What is more important, most current cosmopolitans are located by the sea or rivers such Shanghai, Hongkong and many cities in USA and in Japan.

Last but not least, human beings are imposing much greater pollution to the environment than ever, especially to the oceans. The daily waste, sewage and chemicals flow along the rivers to the oceans. The nuclear leakage in Japan will not only lead to lethal outcomes of species living in the oceans, but also will does harm to the planet through recycling eco-system.

In conclusion, more issues about environment besides the loss of some plants and animals should draw enough attention and instant and comprehensive measures need to be taken to improve the situation.