Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters ( such as food, clothes, and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is imp

How to provide appropriate guidelines in the development of children has bothered most of parents. There is a view that if children are encouraged to decide their daily issues, they are prone to concentrate on their own wishes only. Instead, i would hold a different opinion.

Children who are allowed to make own choices on everyday matters, including food, clothes, to some extent, are expected to consider about themselves only in the future, which is exactly the assumption of older generation on the ones who were born during 1980 and 1990 in China. It is because that they are the only child in a family and can decide many things of their own without considering brothers or sisters.

However, this assumputioon has proved wrong when this generation comes to their 20`s and 30`s. Good qualities like being patient, helpful, considerate, willing to cooperate with others and so on, can be considerably found in them.

On the opposite, the side effects of not allowing children to make their own choices in early stage seem to be extremly obvious. Recent reports have shown that, some students who have graduated more than 10 years are reluctant to look for a job but ask for living expense from their parents as they did in the university. The analysis goes to the surprising fact that their majors and schools were all decided by their parents. As a result, they did not know what to choose when browsing the numerous professions and were afraid to make decisions.

In conclusion, to allow children to decide on what they like and what to do will not result a future of various worries. On the contrary, it will bring unexpected benefits to their development and the entire society.