Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language Discuss both views and give your own oppi

As the mordern world is becoming more connected, learning a foreign language has been very common in our lives. While some people argue that the only purpose of learning a foreign language is to travel or work in other countries, i tend to believe that there are more reasons and benefits besides that.

A good command of a foreign language is undoubtedly helpful to plan a trip or to apply for a job in a foreign country. Otherwise, it might be a nightmare. A good example of this would be my friend once traveling to japan, who knew no more japanese words than "hello" and "thanks". When he ordered a meal in a remote restaurant where nobody spoke English or Chinese, the chef served a meal with amount enough for 5 people because of bad communication.

A foreign language can also broaden our minds and expand our views. Unlike mandarin, english is a languange that emphasizes details and rules, in which the unique linguistic logic imposes impacts on the minds of the speakers. Learning English provides a chance to compare with our mother tongue.

All languages are fruitful in art producions, such as movies, songs and books. by learning the language, we could get a more native insight to these works. For example, after learning Japanese, i got better access to the original songs which were reproduced by Hongkong singers in 1980s and found that the lyrics were completely different from cantonese version. In addition, our country is now open to the world and foreign languages can be used when we establish relationships with foreigners.

To conclude, to travel or work in a foreign courtry has never been the only reason to learn a foreign language, instead, we could find more meanings and usages of foreign languages in life.