It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents an

Childhood is a crucial period for children to develop ability to tell what is right and what is wrong. It is argued that kids ought to get punished if they do not behave, in order to help them know the difference better. I totally agree with the assertion to carry out punishment when misbehavior happens.

Firstly punishment is sending a clear message to kids that such behavior needs to be terminated when they have done it. Nobody is born with knowledge about the world, it therefore takes time and efforts to learn skills, including the skill to discern right and wrong. Rewarding encourages right things, like wise punishment is necessary to mark the bad ones. For example, when children show disrespect to elderly people, certain punishment should be take to help them realize it is wrong.

Secondly the influence of punishment stays longer in mind. We may remember more about punishment than rewards in our childhood. Take me for example, it pinned in my memory that i was punished to stand in front of the blackboard in my year three in primary school for talking loudly with my deskmate in class.

In terms of detailed measures, i suggest punishment should be related to what they have done and the good side. For instance, when children perform badly to elderly people, they need to offer physical work to the elderly such as carrying bags. another example is that kids need to cooperate with his classmates to accomplish community service if they have a fight in school.

In conclusion, during the stage for kids to learn standards of virtue,certain punishment should be adopted by parents and teachers.