Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about how the governments should measure their country's progress. While economic progress is of course essential, I strongly believe that other measures of progress are just important.

There are three keys reasons why economic growth is seen as a fundamental goal for countries. Firstly, a healthy economy results in job creations, a high level of employment and better salaries for all citizens. Secondly, economic progress ensures that more money is available for governments to spend on infrastructure and public services. For example, a country with high avenues can invest in the country's transport systems, its hospitals and its education. Last but not least, a strong economy can help a country to stand on the global stage, in term of its political influence and trading power.

However, i would side with people who argue that other forms of progress are as significant as economic factors mentioned above. In particular, we can consider the area of social justice, human rights, and education. For example, the government should make effort to bridge the gap between the rich and the poor and a education should not be the monopoly of the rich. Perhaps, another key consideration when judging the development of a modern country is how well that country protect the natural environment, and whether it is moving towards environmental sustainability. Alternatively, the success of a nation can be measured by looking at the healthcare, well-being and happiness of its residents. Take China as a example, that country has solely focused on economic progress recently. As a consequence, that country is facing with manifold environmental issues such as polluted air and water which leads to many health problems.

In conclusion, the economy is obviously a key matter of a country success, but social , environmental and health criteria are equally significant.