Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Many people argue that governments prefer to the most fundamental goal is focusing on economy enhance while some people believe that other forms of progress also is not less important for a nation.

On the one hands, there are some reasons why the states pay much attention to the economy. Firstly, a strong economy impacts positively to population, specifically, job creation. The unemployment rate decreases, everyone gets a job with a steady salary or even higher depending on individual ability, and therefore, quality life is improved gradually. Secondly, a growing economy makes money enough to invest and recover infrastructure and social services. For example, governments provide more funding for public health service and the welfare state. Besides, they also construct and expand transport networks for trading and travelling.

On the other hand, other types of progress of a nation are as significant as the economy because the success of a country is measured by looking not only economic development but also the health and wellbeing of residents as well as how well the environment of its. In fact, populations in developed countries get better health service than those in developing countries. there also is a significant distance in social benefits between them. All of our effort in strengthening the economy is unmeaning if it destroys our environment so protecting and reserving environment also become one of the top government priorities.

In conclusion, it seems to me that developing the economy and other fields of a nation need to be carried out simultaneously to support each other on the way towards sustainable development.