Many graduates nowadays are finding it difficult to get a job. Why do you think this is? How can this problem be solved?

Nowadays, there is a phenomenal upsurge in the number of unemployment, which is a challenging problem facing many countries. My following essay will discuss some causes of this issue along with some proactive solutions to address it.

At the outset, the most dominant reason leading to a high rate of unemployment is the students’ lack of soft skills. In all likelihood, students who do not have a good command of some requisite criteria for future jobs including critical thinking, problem-solving, teamwork, etc will find it difficult to find jobs. These skills which are always required from employers tend to be neglected and considered unnecessary in the teaching environment that biased on too much academic learning. Another noteworthy point is that the subject students choose to study is not commensurate with their capacities. For example, if a student who is not adept at drawing or being creative, they are unlikely to become an accomplished designer.

Therefore, people need to take some efficacious measures to tackle this problem as soon as possible. First and foremost, in respect to students it is crucial for them to actively equip themselves with both disciplinary knowledge and essential soft skills with the aim of enhance their value in the competitive market job. Furthermore, contemplating carefully before choosing a subject in university also plays an integral part in their way to find jobs. Last but not least, universities and the education system ought to change the way of teaching and studying in order to enhance the educational outcome and be able to provide the society with a highly qualified workforce.

To sum up, in my pint of view, the shortage of skills accompanied by the unsuitability of students with their fields can exert a negative influence on students’ career, which is likely to lead to unemployment.