In many major cities around the globe the amount of traffic is increasing

What do you think are the causes of this?

Can you suggest some possible solutions?

From the second half of last century increased traffic has been one of the problems troubling metropolitan areas of the world. Year by year this modern issue is getting worse, forcing city-dwellers to spend their time in traffic jams. Personally, I think there are a few obvious ways to deal with this problem,if only the main causes are identified.

If we begin with reasons, I will underline acouple of them. First and more obvious one is increasing of population. From the beginning of last century population of our planet has increased fourfold. What is more important, just over half of those people live in cities, which in turn leads to overpopulation in those areas. So every day, people have to move throughout the city by their private cars in narrow roads. If we add here layout of modern cities, where prestige of city is measured by how tall its building are, problem will get clear. Although tall buildings can solve the overpopulation, as they accommodate more people, the roads are still have their traffic limit. So in peak times when people are going work, tension is guaranteed. Another factor I should mention here is improving of lifestyle. Definitely nowadays people could earn more money than they used to. To that end, everyone, even a middle class worker, can afford buying a car.

Having said that, I tend to think there are several measures which could be taken. Putting limit on car ownership for each family would be a great idea to start with. In some big cities, since they offer good job opportunities, families can own several cars, which leads to the problems mentioned earlier. In this case, if certain laws are introduced, each family will have to own only one car, so it could take some pressure off. Secondly, as was mentioned above, authorities could concentrate on peak times, when everyone is on road. Here I would recommend adding some variety on starting hours of universities, schools and other kind of companies. In other words, there is no rule that forces us to start working day at 9:00 PM. In this case, each company or organization could start its work between 8:00 PM to 10:00 PM extending the pick hours by doing so.

To conclude, increased traffic is the problem that has been following us in every developed part of the world. I think it is high time for us to deal with it.