Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people. Why is this the case and what can be done to attract more local people to visit these places?

Museums and historical sites have always been known as places to gain culture and history information of a country. It is uncommon that, however, they are only cared and visited by foreigners. Obviously, this problem is attributed to a number of reasons. However, there are also several steps people should take to improve this.

The first reason of the lack of local presence in such places is that so hectic are locals' life that they have little time left for family, their leisure hobbies and friends, let alone having interest seeing historical objects or reading theoretical knowledge in such places. In fact, people nowadays shoulder more pressures than ever, thus in leisure time, hanging out with friends and heading cinema or shopping malls are more appealing activities than going to museums where visitors barely have fun things to do. Also, during their student lifetime, locals have gained knowledge related to history, geography which is the main theme of these places. As a result, they do not have reason to explore a war museums for example, given the fact that they have already known all the results or their countries' historical fights in their high school years.

Regarding possible solution, maybe the first step is for the government to allocate more budget to promote the value of such places. They could, for instance, record sophisticated videos describing valuable and instructive artifacts display in which people could learn in a historical museum, trigger the viewers’ curiosity and interest. Furthermore, institutions and schools could join hands by organizing important events like meetings, picnics, job training days or teamwork activities in such places, making it more widely known and familiar to the public.

To recap, owing to these reasons, one can reach a conclusion that the ignorance of the locals toward museums is attributable to their hectic schedule, together with the boredom of such places. Organizations and authorities, however, could change the situation by doing various steps, making such places more visited by locals.