Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people. Why is it the case? What can be done to a ract more local people to visit these places?

these days, a lot of museums and historical sites seem to appeal mainly to tourists, rather than locals. this essay will discuss a number of plausible reasons why this occurring, and a number of possible ways to a ract more local people.

there may be a variety of factors contribu ng to the low numbers of local people visi ng museums and historical sites. Firstly, it is possible that most local people have already visited such places, and may already have signi cant knowledge of their own culture and history, and therefore do not feel the need to return to these places o en, or even at all.(1) therefore, the majority of people visi ng are mostly tourists. Furthermore, many local people probably prefer to spend their free me and holidays visi ng other areas outside of their hometown or country, because they are more interested in learning about other cultures and history, rather than their own.

Although it does seem to be a quite a di cult task a rac ng more locals to visit their own museums and historical sites, there are a number of solu ons that could encourage them to do so.(2) one possible solu on may be for local governments to con nually upgrade museums by rota ng artefacts and displays, in order to arouse more interest from locals. di erent exhibi ons could be displayed and promoted more o en, focusing on di erent themes, or aspects of the culture.(3) Secondly, governments could also encourage and fund annual trips for local school children to museums and historical sites. And lastly, free entry to such places for locals may also encourage more local visitors.

In conclusion, a rac ng local people to visit museums and historical sites in their area may be a di cult process, however, there are a number of ways that locals could be encouraged to do so.