Many museums charge for admission while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

Museums are the keepsake of historical, scientific, artistic, or cultural artifacts which are stored and exhibited. Various museums have their own norms and systems. Some museums charge for the admission while the rest are free. This essay will shed the lights on both the aspect of museum with my personal concrete stance.

The charges at the entrance in the museums have a wide range of advantages. The funds collected for the admission is used up for the maintenance of the museum itself. The funds helps to realize the importance of responsibility to every guests in safeguarding the objects with a greater value. For instance, the funds collected can either used for infrastructural development or garden management. These structures will further enhance the facilities and services to the visitors.

Secondly, it is the responsibility of every citizen to protect their ancient objects or values. A small support by every individual leads to the greater impact overall for the management of the institution. For example, a local community in Sindhupalchok, Nepal have made a compulsory mandate for operation and management fund collection conserving a historical palace with the aim to develop the site as a tourist hub. A win-win local initiative as such is now the major source of income to the local community through tourism in addition to the restoration of cultural values and promotion of social integrity.

On the other hand, the charging of the fees may demotivate individuals towards the institution. People still think that it is the responsibility of government to preserve and manage the government institutions. On contrary, free access could help researcher, academician and other associated personnel to accomplish their studies with exploration of knowledge to the greater depth which can be beneficial to both the parties.

To sum up, it is a responsibility of the government to fund and manage the institutions with nations pride, however, a minimum of the entrance fees might help in realizing its importance and contribute to social integrity. I personally feel that, the advantages of charging for entrance in museum far outweighs the disadvantages.